The Orphan I Am Chronicles – 151

I’ve finally done it, I submitted a manuscript to a publisher in hope that they like my work/writing enough to begin my published writing passion and career. Anyone that knows me knows that this was not easy for me. To surrender my work to the world and hope for a favorable outcome. As I’ve stated before, I am my own worst critic, yet here we are.

I mention we because in my opinion, one never truly steps forward alone, please allow me to explain. In life as we grow older, we carry life experiences, regrets, memories of past relationships as we as some demons. We try and build walls so that we are somewhat protected as we move on cautiously. No matter what path we choose, there’s always that tap on the shoulder to remind each of us of what we left behind.

We are then reminded that there are a few that supports whatever decision or life choices we make, in my life its the love I have for my three sons and their love for me, it’s unconditional. Then there’s my precious grand daughter, her mother, my daughter in law, there are not enough words.

So when I say we are never take such steps alone, the decision to attempt something which in a way I feared to do so for many years, it is comforting to know what motivates you, either out of love or a troubled past, we finally take that step. Okay, moving on. I have thousands of pages of handwritten work/writings, several flash drives my writing is on as well as ideas for original artistic projects.

Book one, The Face Painter was originally well over 200 pages and at times very complex mixture of characters, story lines and visuals. The hardest part of getting this ready to submit was for me to edit it down and then reread for any possible final revision. So the story went from 200 pages to about 150 after following the proper formatting. Then in the final revision, eliminating repetitive reminders throughout as well as making sure I leave the reader with something for the imagination and questions left unanswered to entice the reader to want to read book two of the trilogy.

The Face Painter is an introduction, a blueprint of sorts for the following two books and especially to demonstrate to the reader as well as any possible publisher as to my writing style and overall purpose. I may have mentioned this here before, I am a very intuitive person, I was informed by my mother when I visited her once that I was born with a veil over my face. After some research certain things in my life began to make sense,

I only mention this because when it came time to put my work out there, I looked over many publishers on-line as well as considering uploading it to a certain website for digital sales. But my reasons for going the harder route is this, I love the feel of a book in my hands, it’s smell, the escape one feels when you first open it. Also with the poor decisions being made by politicians to shutter libraries which ntw angers many besides me, I went the publisher route. Sure besides a possible hardback, paperback, they may themselves suggest digital and that’s fine.

So I got a good feeling about this one publisher and submitted my manuscript to them. I’m an optimistic person and it may turn out they pass on it, but write now a group of strangers to me will be looking over it, they will collectively be making a decision and for that alone, I am greatly appreciative. But no matter the outcome, I know at some point I will get published by someone and if so, I hope they value original work as I do as well as taking an active role in signing on new authors.

I will of course keep you posted and we all are always writing something down, so please keep writing.

Peace , Tony Kinchloe

~ by tonyk on April 26, 2024.

Leave a comment

 
E. S. Foster

Foster Your Writing

Histories and Mysteries

All things weird, beautiful, and unexplained

Adventures of The Nude Writer

Living And Loving In My Naked Little World

Shannon A. Thompson

Author. Speaker. Librarian.

S. Laura Artworks

My art is the child of my imagination!

lorellepage

Reader-to-Writer

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Art Attack

Discovering art in everything

Words of Margaux

Humor and Motivation for Writers and Other Dreamers

A Stairway To Fashion

imagination is the key