The Orphan I Am Chronicles – 125

Peaking My Interest, My Curiosity

Through out my life, I’ve come across things that have made me more than just curious, such as a building which has some years on it. Perhaps even a courtyard in front of old abandoned mansion. Some times it would be easily accessible and other times the entrance, usually an iron gate of some sort would be padlocked.

rusty  Most people would quickly give the gate a rattle and go about on their way, but not me. I would take a step back while observing, admiring and studying this secure portal to Lord knows what. With its iron rusted, painted over many times, dried bubbles of paint struggling to remain part of this, but finally giving in and almost magically departing as colorful flakes, now resting just below, there are your feet. To admire the enormity of this which towers far above my head, as ancient rose beds line the left and right. The etchings, surely to be symbolic. But why would someone choose to hide what was meant to be seen?

Before I look beyond the gate, I inspect the gate’s hinges, large and securely rusted, I wonder, if I somehow opened this which has been ignored and forgotten, would the hinges squeak loudly announcing my presence? Does this gate swing both ways? Could I enter and never to exit, to become part of this beautiful, weathered decay. I rise slightly on my toes, to peer beyond the over grown front yard, hoping by some miracle my sight would somehow be allowed to look past the curve in the cobblestone walkway.

I could see just over the trees, a top edge of a wooden roof, its wooden shingles resemble more that of a patchwork quilt, my adrenaline kicks in, I can’t contain myself, should I? Would you? I look left then right as I carefully ease myself between the iron rails and the rose bushes. I ignore the occasional snag of my jeans, the prick of my skin, a small trickle of blood runs down my leg. Just as my body sat perched on the rail, I see a metal sign staked in this endless yard. The sign although very old could still be read, ‘Keep Out’. So with that, I begin to lower myself, abandoning my quest. A final glance and I see the faded curtains just to the right front door drop back into place. Someone had been watching me, but who?

As I made my way to the street, I took note of that address and just knew I’d return, but only after finding out more about who resides inside. My curiosity had now become an obsession and a mystery of what exists beyond this gate. A gate that may that may or may not swing both ways.

peace tone

~ by tonekinchloe on November 28, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
witchlike

Exploring wise-craft and weirdness

Adventures of The Nude Writer

Living And Loving In My Naked Little World

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Beyond Compromise - الثَّوابِت

Resistance Until Liberation & Return

S. Laura Artworks

My art is the child of my imagination!

lorellepage

Reader-to-Writer

Jamie Krug

I am the luckiest woman, mom, and wife in the world. Or am I the unluckiest...? It really depends on the day.

Venezia.

Not a writer.

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Art Attack

Discovering art in everything

Words of Margaux

Humor and Motivation for Writers and Other Dreamers

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

