The Orphan I Am Chronicles – 111

Remember these?

IMG_20140808_140002  When I was a kid, perhaps even you. This was a form of escape, a method of freedom from the ails of a childhood and all that accompanies it. We all had our various methods of using it, as well as the daring heights we would swing ourselves to, often with the help of a close friend, boldly pushing us from behind.

Life indeed was much simpler, we ran around barefoot, we seldom paid attention to the time and most important, it was a great method of hanging with friends, even more important, making new ones. This particular swing is in the yard of a vacant duplex, right next to mine. Over the past 6-7 years, friends of mine have used it, some barely swinging while reading a book. I’ve seen people just walking through the neighborhood run over and sit joyfully and if they happen to make eye contact with one of us, that person would ask, “Do you mind if I swing in it?” Of course not, that is what its there for.

Before my eyes I would witness an adult or younger adult, be taken back momentarily to when as a kid, they to sought refuge on a plank fastened to two thick ropes, by someone who daringly climbed up a tree and out onto a thick branch while others below, urged that person on how to do it. Now as drove around, you would see neighborhood parks over filling with children, their laughter and energy radiating as memories began accumulating in their intelligent, artful little minds.

Time passes, cities close parks, playgrounds, than city public pools likewise. Graffiti escalates, some quite beautiful some hateful and its purpose a sign, a warning for a place once free to everyone, now belongs to a select few who don’t appreciate its history, its worth. Swings and such, once used for recreation, now decaying props in a backdrop, replaced by gang members, drug dealers, prostitution as well as a means of abduction by predators, pedophiles.

When I was a boy and became interested in girls and no longer thought of them as yucky, it was often at the swings where the innocence and all the tenderness and beauty that blooms from the heart of a child that is most precious and priceless, which we all hopefully experienced. These are the moments which become memories which we all hold onto, unwilling to let present state of the world take it away from us.

So every once in a while, I look back and reflect on the heights such a simple pleasure gave me, as I swung boldly into the unknown, my eyes catching glimpses of the clear blue sky and its bellowing white clouds, as my body lifted occasionally off that plank, as my little hands gripped the ropes tightly, so much so that blisters of joy etched into my palm, I look back and I smile at the thought of it. I hope this feeling never goes away.

peace tone

~ by tonekinchloe on August 8, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
witchlike

Exploring wise-craft and weirdness

Adventures of The Nude Writer

Living And Loving In My Naked Little World

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Beyond Compromise - الثَّوابِت

Resistance Until Liberation & Return

S. Laura Artworks

My art is the child of my imagination!

lorellepage

Reader-to-Writer

Jamie Krug

I am the luckiest woman, mom, and wife in the world. Or am I the unluckiest...? It really depends on the day.

Venezia.

Not a writer.

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Art Attack

Discovering art in everything

Words of Margaux

Humor and Motivation for Writers and Other Dreamers

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

