The Orphan I Am Chronicles – 73

So downloaded some music right? Not just any music, but music which provided me with an escape from reality when I was being raised in the orphanage. The music am I talking about? Earth Wind and Fire.

There were times that I had so many questions with very few answers and my only savior was music, in this band, more spiritualistic and profound. Not a bad discovery for a rebellious teen with few bright moments in my life. I was hanging with friends in the neighborhood, heard, The Way of the World for the first time, I rushed to buy whatever albums I could find, thank you Cactus Records off Westhimer.

So time later, it wasn’t much later that it was announced they would perform in Houston and by the end of that same day, I had a ticket in my hand. I’m pretty sure that I was the first in our neighborhood to have one and I am positive I was the ONLY ONE to own this priceless ticket at Deplechin.

I had no problem getting around on my own, which I often did and I couldn’t exactly tell you who went with me, Yvette was there I’m sure as well as a buddy or two. Although I knew every word to every song and knew their music like I knew my own voice, I was not prepared for the overall event itself, the mood of the people, all in unity, the production itself, its grand opening with a column of fire with a guitarist suspended high in the air.

For two hours or more, I forgot about all the questions my young mind was overflowing with, for two hours nothing  else really mattered. It was as if EWF took what was troubling me and introduced me to a new way of coping/dealing with things that pained me. That evening I experienced an awakening of sorts, as we made our ways back to our homes, the mood so mellow and my thoughts were now this wave of understanding, simplifying some things while posing yet more questions, but without the immediate need for the answers.

On a final thought, as I recall that evening and its lasting impressions and appreciations was that it was all about the music and the well crafted meanings to the lyrics. Everyone sang, danced in place, smiled and for that two hours, we indeed were all one. This is what Earth Wind and Fire is all about, it’s great to see they are still performing.

peace tone

 

~ by tonekinchloe on January 19, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
witchlike

Exploring wise-craft and weirdness

Adventures of The Nude Writer

Living And Loving In My Naked Little World

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Beyond Compromise - الثَّوابِت

Resistance Until Liberation & Return

S. Laura Artworks

My art is the child of my imagination!

lorellepage

Reader-to-Writer

Jamie Krug

I am the luckiest woman, mom, and wife in the world. Or am I the unluckiest...? It really depends on the day.

Venezia.

Not a writer.

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Art Attack

Discovering art in everything

Words of Margaux

Humor and Motivation for Writers and Other Dreamers

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

