The Orphan I Am Chronicles – 52

Okay this blog is me venting a bit,

I live in an area of Texas which is basically a college town and offers virtually nothing for adults to do in their spare time, everything is ‘catered’ to the students, too many fast food places and places to get drunk. When I moved back here some five years ago, they had many vast apartment complexes with most at about 65% capacity. Over the past five years, many more apartment complexes have been built, sure offering more but by doing this, they are cutting the throats of the now older complexes, many moving out to newer ones, resulting in many more vacancies with no one to move in.

First, I think that it is a complete waste of natural resources to build apartment complexes, which in my opinion, aren’t needed. Second, the older complexes once vibrant are now in my estimate are around 55% capacity and while their bottom line is no doubt effected, smaller stores, places to eat around those older apartments are also suffering with some closing.  With the success of Texas A&M’s first year in the SEC and Johnny Manzeils Heisman performance, the city of CollegeStation and Texas A&M is rushing to rebuild Kyle , A&M’s football stadium, into what is to be the largest sports venue in Texas. Why???

The cost? A staggering $450 million and most likely to be much more than this figure. $450 for a football program that already is doing great financially. Now as I said earlier, if I told you to write down on a piece of paper, all the entertainment choices an adult has in CollegeStation, you would only need a single piece of paper and perhaps 4-5 lines, get drunk in Northgate (for the most part, redneck bars and btw, I don’t drink) eat at a fast food place aka (eat shit), go to Hurricane Harry’s (country and western bar, again I don’t drink and I hate country music) and well damn, that’s it.

So a question here, if the city/texas a&m is going to raise and spend $450 plus million, why not build some venues not connected to A&M that is art related? Perhaps even build some museums, smaller music venues, outdoor sports venues focused on cycling, extreme sports etc again, not connected to the university. Hell they could even build some city gyms catered to families to emphasize good health without the expensive gym fees that Gold’s and Aerofit charge.

I’d love to see the city focus on bike lanes and encourage more to use those lanes. But like I said, this area is solely focused on the University and student population and screw everyone else, us residents.  I can go on and on with many examples on the tunnel vision the powers that be have in this area, but it would be for nothing, it’s about the bottom line and unfortunately, it is always about that bottom-line. (Three things this town doesn’t need anymore of, apartment complexes, hotels and fast food/restaurants.)

But hey, myself? My plans are to move BACK to Austin as soon as it is possible, back where I belong. pEaCe

~ by tonekinchloe on July 27, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
witchlike

Exploring wise-craft and weirdness

Adventures of The Nude Writer

Living And Loving In My Naked Little World

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Beyond Compromise - الثَّوابِت

Resistance Until Liberation & Return

S. Laura Artworks

My art is the child of my imagination!

lorellepage

Reader-to-Writer

Jamie Krug

I am the luckiest woman, mom, and wife in the world. Or am I the unluckiest...? It really depends on the day.

Venezia.

Not a writer.

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Art Attack

Discovering art in everything

Words of Margaux

Humor and Motivation for Writers and Other Dreamers

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

