The Orphan I Am Chronicles – 40

Original works,

I recently had a conversation about the lack of original stories/scripts being used for films lately with a close friend of mine. Her comments seemed somewhat justified but also I had to point out the quality of the writing/films that have been ‘crafted’ by the Indy film companies and films which seem exist below the radar. An example of such a film(s) is a trilogy that spanned many years with the smallest of a cast and a brilliant director. I’m talking about the trilogy, ‘ Before Sunrise’, ‘Before Sunset’, and ‘Before Midnight’, directed by Richard Linklater, starring Ethan Hawke and Julie Deply and written by Richard Linklater, Ethan Hawke and Julie Deply.

Man meets woman in far away country with a pleasant mixture of attraction and intellect, lengthy enriched dialogue, often done in one continuous take/shot. When I brought this example of a film that for the most part remains below the mainstream radar, my friend was surprised I even knew of the film, much less would take the time to watch and enjoy them, due to the films being more romantic and often avoided by men.

But as I discussed the first two films with her, she realized that not only had I paid attention to the most smallest of details in the film, but she also realized that some things that she thought that most men did not appreciate in a relationship, such as ‘communication’, that I found it to be the key element in the films, perhaps the communication itself is a character in these films.

When I say this magnificent set of films seems to stay below the radar, what I mean is the seemingly limited release to a wider range of theaters, which is probably due to the absence of things exploding/getting blown up, murders, predictable plots and even more predictable ‘lines’. But then for example in the coffee shop I frequent, my home away from home, something magical happened. As we discussed these films, others within earshot, who had been listening, decided to join the conversation.

With the sound of chairs sliding across the floor, others patiently waiting to add their own comments, it was easy to see that although these jewels of the cinema were not the ‘blockbusters’ that they had a following, a following that had patiently waited year after years for each film to be completed, so they could see who was more correct as to what the outcome would be between Celine and Jesse, the roles of Deply and Hawke.

With a smile on my face, I was relieved to look around me and see that those discussing these films were women and men, proof that romance in itself, was also important to us men. So as I listened, I took mental notes and what stood out in the films to others, hell all of us writers do this in one way or another. So as the discussion began to wind down, I was asked by one woman, how did I first hear of the films? My reply was quick, my youngest son Michael told me of the first film, Before Sunrise and how good it was.

I am a big fan of Ethan Hawke and Julie Deply’s acting and choice of films they are involved in. I think it is good to see actors today dedicate themselves to such, ‘artistic’ projects. pEaCe

~ by tonekinchloe on June 7, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
witchlike

Exploring wise-craft and weirdness

Adventures of The Nude Writer

Living And Loving In My Naked Little World

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Beyond Compromise - الثَّوابِت

Resistance Until Liberation & Return

S. Laura Artworks

My art is the child of my imagination!

lorellepage

Reader-to-Writer

Jamie Krug

I am the luckiest woman, mom, and wife in the world. Or am I the unluckiest...? It really depends on the day.

Venezia.

Not a writer.

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Art Attack

Discovering art in everything

Words of Margaux

Humor and Motivation for Writers and Other Dreamers

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

