The Orphan I Am Chronicles- 6

We was leaving Houston and heading to Austin on a late Friday afternoon. Highway 290 is a traffic nightmare that time of the day so we enjoy just chatting and listening to music. Just on the outskirts, we noticed that the people in the cars were rubber necking over to the right, so expecting an accident, we also looked that way, its human nature.

As we passed, it was no accident but a man who pulled over on the shoulder to argue with a woman, Lydia yelled that he had just hit her. So we pulled over on the shoulder in front of them and I walked over to the drivers side, as I approached a Hispanic man told me ‘rudely’ to get back in my fkn truck.  Lydia had gotten out and stood by my truck, I looked beyond the man at the woman and asked if she was okay? She turned and leaned towards the driver and said while trembling, she says yes, but she lies.

She obviously was pregnant, she had red marks and scratches on her face, so without thinking, i reached in with my left hand and grabbed him by the shirt and threw a punch at him, my hand grazing the top frame of the car, my punch was off its mark. Again, while ignoring the pain in my hand now, I threw another punch which landed on the point of his jaw, I could hear it crack loudly. The man now holding his jaw, moaning, a DPS unit pulled up behind him and blasted his siren once. So Lydia ran too me while I stood against the car expecting to be arrested. The deputy asked me what had happened and I pointed in the car and started explaining. He glanced in the car, saw the condition the woman was in and also found a bottle of liquor near the man.

So the deputy looks at me, then looks at my truck and says, “Your truck is sticking out in the road, I need you both to get in your truck and move it to safety and (in a lower tone) keep driving.” He walks over, shakes my hand, pats me on the back and begins calling it in as he walked back to the car. As we drove off, I could see the deputy dragging the man from the car….No doubt going to jail. I’ve always wondered how the deputy explained the man’s broken jaw? This happened yrs ago and pulled it from my journal…Just something to think about, something that was quite unexpected. Oh yea, I fracture one finger on the door frame of that car…..took some time to mend. pEaCe

~ by tonekinchloe on July 22, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
witchlike

Exploring wise-craft and weirdness

Adventures of The Nude Writer

Living And Loving In My Naked Little World

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Beyond Compromise - الثَّوابِت

Resistance Until Liberation & Return

S. Laura Artworks

My art is the child of my imagination!

lorellepage

Reader-to-Writer

Jamie Krug

I am the luckiest woman, mom, and wife in the world. Or am I the unluckiest...? It really depends on the day.

Venezia.

Not a writer.

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Art Attack

Discovering art in everything

Words of Margaux

Humor and Motivation for Writers and Other Dreamers

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

